A little Self Indulgence

I have a bit of a love hate relationship with scripts. The ability to write long coversations with ease is invaluble but at the same time they do somewhat limit the ability to be descriptive of enviroments and actions. That said I have been mulling over for a while something I read years ago about it being important to create your own characters and make them your own and so my mind turned to how I would design a character in the same vain as horror classica such as Pinhead, Freddy Krueger, Jason Voorhees and the like. Now I’m not comparing my characters to greats like them because I think my invention is as good, just that they are the type of design and style I was looking to replicate.

INT. A BEDROOM.
A man sits at a desk, the only light coming from the computer
glowing computer monitor in front of him, he is naked except
for a pair of boxer shorts and as he scrolls through the list
of videos on the screen he licks his lips. One had controls
the mouse while the other slowly slips from where it had been
resting on his leg and creeps down the front of his shorts.
As a video plays he starts to rub his cock vigorously. On
screen a woman is dragged down a back alley by two men, her
blouse ripped violently off of her body. By the time the
second man gets his turn with the now broken and battered
woman the man at his desk has already spilt his seed and is
lounging on his chair looking satisfied, and glancing around
for tissues.
HIDDEN FIGURE
I trust that was what you wanted.
The man at the computer looks around in fear
MAN AT DESK
Who’s there? How did you get in
here
A figure steps from the shadows, unnaturally tall and thin it
is dressed in a bizarre black outfit so tight that even in
the dark its ribs can be seen through the material, strangely
pointed and sharp. It’s shoulders are adorned with a ragged
looking cloak and it wears boots up to its knees. On its head
is a cavalier hat complete with silver feather that shimmers
in the dark. The hat is tilted in such a way that the pointed
brim covers the figures eyes.
THE CAVALIER
My name is without importance, it
has long since been lost beneath
the sands of time, as for how I
entered, the door.
(thin, pale lips curl into
a smile beneath the
pointed hat)
MAN AT DESK
I’ve been here all night, I can see
that door and no body has been
through it.
THE CAVALIER
I did not say I used that door, I
used the door. But again, it is of
no importance.
MAN AT DESK
I don’t know who you are or what
drugs you’ve been taking, just get
out of my house now, I’m calling
the police.
THE CAVALIER
Call whoever you want, They won’t
hear you. I won’t allow them to.
MAN AT DESK
Look Just get out, I have a gun in
this desk here and I will use it
THE CAVALIER
(smirking again)
You have no such weapon, nor would
one aid you even if you did. I am
beyond threats from this world
MAN AT DESK
(becoming hysterical)
Look I don’t know what you want but
get out I really will call the
police
THE CAVALIER
And as I have told you, they will
not hear you. As for what I want, I
have come for you Anthony Rouse
ANTHONY
How do you know my name?
THE CAVALIER
How could I not know the name of
the man who called me.
ANTHONY
I don’t know you, I have never
called you. You won’t even tell me
who you are.
THE CAVALIER
Your mouth doesn’t need to summon
me, your actions are enough, I hope
that you enjoyed them, they may be
your last for a very long time.
Anthony falls backwards out of his chair and scoots away
across the floor. In response The Cavalier takes a few
delicate paces forwards, carefully placing each foot in front
of the other.
ANTHONY
You-you’re here to kill me? Why?
HELP! HELP!
THE CAVALIER
(licks its lips as if
savoring a great taste)
Kill you my dear Anthony?

(MORE)
No, you are not going to die,
though your actions may have
condemned you to a fate you would
consider worse.
ANTHONY
Please No!, What have I done to
deserve this? Why would a demon
like you come to me?
THE CAVALIER
What have you done? My dear Anthony
you have just finished signing your
own fate, The ink isn’t even dry on
your hands yet.
The Cavalier turns it’s head towards the door for a moment
before turning back.
(beneath it’s hat there is
a glint of gold from an
amber eye which is hidden
as The Cavalier turns
back)
THE CAVALIER (CONT’D)
Beyond that door is a room where a
woman sleeps. A woman you promised
as you were wed to her that you
would love forever and yet as she
sleeps you are in here committing
adultery of the mind and yet you
have the indecency to ask what it
is you have done? And you asked my
identity before, you may have found
a fitting answer as Demon seems
like a fitting way to describe my
personage
ANTHONY
Please, Poor Monica, you can’t kill
me, think of her? Where would she
be without me. I provide for her, I
put food on her table…
THE CAVALIER
(Anger rising in its voice
for the first time)
An appeal to consider the innocent?
Where was she on your mind as you
were in here defiling the bond the
two of you signed? How can you lie
there and ask me to think of her
when you never did. Provide for
her? When was the last time you did
anything with her wellbeing in
mind? You call yourself a man when
really there is no chivalry in your
heart.

THE CAVALIER (CONT’D)
(MORE)
I, who addressed myself as demon am
more a man than you. Those tears
you weep are not for her but for
yourself.
ANTHONY
(begging)
Please no! There must be people
worse than I am, all I did was
masturbate, there are men out there
cheating all the time, right now
someone is with a whore while his
wife is at home please why me?
THE CAVALIER
Worse than you? Yes there are, but
it is not them to who I appear, but
you.
ANTHONY
I can change…
THE CAVALIER
Change Anthony? That is an
admission of guilt. People who
change are people who are wrong.
You have put yourself in a position
you should never have been in
Anthony, This is your own doing.
The Cavalier raises a hand and Anthony rises off the ground.
He starts to twitch and scream as he convulses in the air,
clearly in excruciating pain even though his body shows no
sign of physical damage.
ANTHONY
(between screams)
Please no! God in heaven no!
THE CAVALIER
(unleashes a dark laugh so
evil that despite the
mystical space he exists
in manages to wake Monica
in the next room)
A great man once wrote, that There
are more things in heaven and
earth, Horatio, Than are dreamt of
in your philosophy. None of these
things will you see My dear
Anthony. You are going beyond
earth, and with your crimes, you
will never see heaven.
Anthony, still convulsing, drifts across the floor until his
chin rests perfectly in The Cavalier’s outstretched hand.

THE CAVALIER (CONT’D)
As soon as their skin touches Anthony’s convulsions stop and
he hangs from The Cavalier’s hand entirely, The Cavalier its
self showing no sign of struggling to hold him.
ANTHONY
P…please, a second chance.
THE CAVALIER
You have had a chance Anthony, that
is more than some get. Now come,
there is so much yet for you to
experience.
The Cavalier finally lifts its hat, tipping it up with one
delicate finger and showing a ghostly pale face that houses
golden eyes glowing so intently that they seem to bore into
the very soul.
The door opens and Monica steps in, turning on the light she
stares around the empty room. The chair is still on it’s side
on the floor and on the computer screen the second man
finished with the woman as the first pulls a knife to slit
her throat.
MONICA
Anthony?
End.

Leave a Reply

